Resilience Realized

The Resilience Realized Awards recognizes projects around the world that are at the cutting edge of resilience and brings together the best examples globally of innovative approaches to creating and realizing resilient infrastructure systems in practice. It will showcase organizations, teams and governments that are inspiring transformational change to create resilient outcomes against current and future uncertainties.


Are you inspiring transformational change in what you do and how you do it, to build resilience more effectively into your assets and infrastructure projects?

Whatever part you play in creating a more resilient world, we want to hear from you.

We encourage teams working on a wide variety of physical infrastructure projects to highlight how they have incorporated resilience thinking into their work.


Winners of the Resilience Realized Awards will achieve the recognition of, and benefit from close engagement with our prestigious awards panel of global leaders in sustainable and resilient infrastructure. Winning project teams will have the opportunity for their projects to be featured and amplified worldwide by Wood and The Resilience Shift as examples of excellence, including celebration through an extensive multi-channel media campaign. Prizewinners will also be recognized through high-level exposure to distinguished industry leaders and the broader community supporting infrastructure resilience, including our growing number of influential Endorsing Partners.

Non-winning entries which meet our gold standard criteria for resilient infrastructure projects will also be profiled as part of a valuable resource for resilience practitioners, with the potential for these projects to be showcased as best practice worldwide.


For 2021, Resilience Realized will focus on energy resilience but can originate from any sector – projects must:

  • Be energy focused but with a preference for impact in at least one other sector.
  • Relate to the resilience of physical assets and/or infrastructure systems.
  • Be implemented – whether embedded into systemic change and practice, newly built or a completed retrofit.
  • Demonstrate how resilience has been embedded into the project.
  • Demonstrate evidence of whole system thinking and a hazard-agnostic or multi-hazard approach.

The process for submitting a project involves providing basic project information, and then completing a set of screening questions designed to share the ways in which you have addressed resilience throughout the lifecycle of your project. Top-performing projects will be invited to provide some more in-depth information before a semi-finalist assessment to determine which projects are selected to be put forward for consideration by our awards panel of internationally renowned experts.

Wood is a global leader in consulting and engineering across energy and the built environment, helping to unlock solutions to some of the world’s most critical challenges across the accelerating energy transition and the urgent global need for resilient, sustainable infrastructure. We achieve this through consulting, projects and operations solutions across more than 60 countries, and through the expertise of our 40,000 people.


The Resilience Shift is the global hub for resilience best practice, a platform of platforms that unites all those who must work together to build systemic resilience across the globe. We are creating a movement to bridge the infrastructure systems gap, to create a safe, resilient, and sustainable future for all, in a world that is full of disruptive forces.

The Resilience Shift

“The Resilience Realized Awards will show that transformative change is still possible and that we can make a practical difference to the state of the planet and the quality of people’s lives.”

Debra Roberts


Submit a Project

If you think your project is something we’d like to hear about, let us know by completing a submission! We are interested in submissions from all types of eligible projects, whether big or small, and from different settings and contexts around the world. Our aim is to inspire motivate and enable resilience creation across infrastructure systems, and in order to do this we want to have as much diversity in our submissions as possible.

Confirm submission

Are you happy to submit the project for judging?
You will not be able to make any changes once submitted.