Frequently Asked Questions

What are the Resilience Realized Awards?

The Resilience Realized Awards will bring together the best examples globally of innovative approaches to creating and realizing resilient asset and infrastructure systems in practice. It will give recognition to those projects around the world that are at the cutting edge of resilience. It will showcase teams that are inspiring transformational change in what they do, and how they do it, to create resilient outcomes ready for current and future uncertainties. The Resilience Realized Awards website, and showcase of submitted and shortlisted projects, will be a futurere source to inspire, motivate and enable resilience creation across infrastructure systems, sharing best practice examples of new and creative ways to deliver future-ready resilient assets and infrastructure.

What is infrastructure resilience?

Infrastructure resilience is the ability to withstand, adapt to changing conditions, and recover positively from shocks and stresses.

Resilient infrastructure will therefore be able to continue to provide essential services, due to its ability to withstand, adapt and recover positively from whatever shocks and stresses it may face now and in the future.

What is the Timeline?

We will be inviting entries from mid-November 2021 through March 2022 for the first round of evaluation.

If your project is successful, we will contact you in April/May 2022 to invite you to submit further information for a second round of evaluation and consideration for the Resilience Realized Awards.

All innovative projects, including winners and runner-ups, will be included on our online library of innovative case studies which we will be building out on this website in 2023.

Who is behind the project?

Resilience Realized is a partnership by Wood and The Resilience Shift.

Wood is a global leader in consulting and engineering across energy and the built environment, helping to unlock solutions to some of the world’s most critical challenges. We provide consulting, projects and operations solutions in more than 60 countries, employing around 40,000 people. We recognise that achieving a sustainable, resilient and liveable future is one of the biggest challenges facing our generation, so this underpins all that we do.

The Resilience Shift was created by two highly respected global firms – Lloyd’s Register Foundation and Arup. As the global hub for resilience, our mission is to help ensure the safety and continuity of the critical infrastructure systems and services that make our lives possible. We’re working globally to help define this and provide pathways from theory to practice, as a think tank, a grant-making body, and a convening network.

What sort of projects are eligible?

We are looking for asset and infrastructure projects that demonstrate an innovative approach or change in practice. For the 2021-22 Award cycle, the focus should relate to energy resilience but can originate from any sector.

The project needs to:

  • Be energy focused but with a preference for impact in at least one other sector
  • Relate to the resilience of physical assets and/or infrastructure systems
  • Be implemented whether embedded into systemic change and practice, newly built or a completed retrofit
  • Demonstrate how resilience has been embedded into the project and where at different stages of the infrastructure lifecycle and value chain, a difference has been made that contributes to enhanced resilience. For example, considering what has been done differently in the concept, planning, funding, design, engineering, construction, operation, maintenance, end usage, decommissioning and end of life, etc.
  • Demonstrate evidence of whole system thinking and a hazard-agnostic or multi-hazard approach – we’ll be using criteria that reflect our acquired insights into what matters for resilience.

What types of organizations are eligible to submit?

Resilience is a complex, multi-sectoral challenge. We will accept submissions from private sectors companies, nongovernmental organizations, or governments that are delivering resilience infrastructure projects.

What if the project isn’t in operation yet?

Unfortunately, projects that are not operational will not be eligible for the award, as we cannot evaluate the success of the approach. That said, we are very interested in design stage projects, or projects still under construction, so please do submit your project if you think it fits our ambition as we may showcase promising submissions in a forthcoming report as well as the online showcase to be released with the Resilience Realized Awards.

What are the desired outcomes for the project?

We want projects to showcase how they have enhanced whole system resilience. How did the project’s purpose and desired outcome improve upon or benefit all stakeholders involved including the community of end users? It’s not what the project is, but what it does.

Why should I submit my project?

Resilience Realized represents a gold standard for asset and infrastructure projects and any project featured will have been recognised as a world leader by our panel of judges. You will also be contributing to a valuable resource for practitioners, with the potential for your ideas to be used as best practice worldwide.

Winners of the award will have achieved the recognition of our judging panel of distinguished industry leaders and will have the opportunity to engage with the judges through the wider project activities and promotion.

Winning project teams will have opportunity to have their projects promoted by Wood and The Resilience Shift as examples of excellence.

What is the judging process?

Assessment of submissions, shortlisting and judging will take place in Q1 and Q2 of 2022 with winners to be announced in autumn 2022, in the run up to our programme of activities at the 2022 United Nations Framework on Climate Change Conference of Parties (COP27).

All projects accepted into the Resilience Realized initiative will be posted on the Resilience Realized website and shared as part of promotions for the Awards.

Is there a prize?

Winning projects will receive recognition from our panel of judges, global exposure of your work plus the chance to contribute to a project that spotlights the growing importance of resilience.

Who are members of the awards panel?

We have brought together a diverse group of leading experts with a broad range of experience in the field of infrastructure resilience. Our judges are all internationally recognised leaders in their fields, and we are delighted to be able to offer selected semi-finalist projects the opportunity to achieve the recognition of, and engagement with, our panel of judges. You can learn more about them here.

How will my information be used?

The Resilience Realized showcase will be a resource for the sharing of ideas amongst industry professionals, and we will need information about how your approach works for the judges to decide the winners.  Please see our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions of the website for full details.

Confirm submission

Are you happy to submit the project for judging?
You will not be able to make any changes once submitted.